Minutes from the Lebanon Public Library Board of Trustees

March 26, 2003


Jane Myers called the meeting to order.  Board members attending were Huck Lewis, Linda Jones, David Koehler, Marsha Truitt, and Ruth Lucas.  Kay Martin, Dan Sulkoske from Kramer, David Truitt, Library Attorney, and Matt and Scott from OMS also attended.  Sharon Wood was unable to attend.


The secretary’s report was read and corrected.  Huck made the motion and Linda gave the second to approve the minutes as corrected.


Ruth reported that the State has been overpaying out COIT money.  Now they are giving us less each month to make up the difference.  A motion was made by David K. and seconded by Huck to transfer appropriation line items for 2002.


Claims were read.  Marsha made the motion and Ruth gave the second to pay the claims.


Bond Council presentations were made by Bruce Donaldson and Jane Hendron.  Bruce Donaldson and Jeff Qualkenbush presented for Barnes & Thornbur.  Jim Shanahan and Jane Hendron presented for Ice Miller.  Ice Miller wrote the law on Bond Council.  After discussion, Ruth made the motion and David K. gave the second to hire Ice Miller for our Bond Council.  Huck was the only opposing vote.


OMS is creating a virtual tour for us on CD.


Amy Miller of Cornerstone Grants Management, Inc. will help find grants for us.  We will only be charged if we receive grants.


Suzanne Walker, the new Young Adult librarian, was introduced.


The Red Alert policy was approved without a second reading.  David K. made the motion and Ruth gave the second.  The Board decided to add a clause that the Library would close upon notification of Code Red.  Huck made the motion and David K. gave the second.


Library Day was a huge success.  250 hot dogs were served.


Jane and Huck attended an ILF dinner where Stokes was given an award for their Laura Ingalls Wilder Project.


Huck made the motion and David K. gave the second for Ruth to advertise for the 2004 Capital Projects Fund.


The next Board Meeting will be held April 23, 2003 at 4 p.m.





_________________________                                  _________________________

Marsha Truitt, Secretary                                              Jane Myers, P