av-header
Ya Intro

Welcome To The Young Adult Department


The Young Adult Department is located on the main floor of the Lebanon Public Library. Highlights of the department include the Sugar Bowl (the teen program room), teen programs, and book and magazine collections aimed specifically at teens and young adults!
Mission Statement
The mission of the Young Adult Department of the Lebanon Public Library is to provide the young adults of this community with information, opportunities, and programming by communicating with them, collaborating with their schools and by staying abreast of current Young Adult trends in popular culture as well as professional literature.
Ya Events
Monthly Events Calendar - Click Calendar for a Larger View
Ya Events

The Sugar Bowl

Teens join us for fun programs, great books, and study. We offer programs ranging from Baking clubs to book clubs to creative writing clubs and many things in between! Please "like" us on Facebook to receive regular updates about upcoming teen. Seasonal parties and reading programs are offered throughout the year.
Video background

Events

After School Movie: Catching Fire

When: April 23, 2014 4 p.m.
Where: The Sugar Bowl

Join us in The Sugar Bowl at 4 p.m. to watch Catching Fire on our new big screen smart TV donated to us from the Friends of the Library.
Light refreshments will be available.


Coming in May: Book Club

When: May 28, 2014 4 p.m.
Where: The Sugar Bowl

Grab a copy of Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick and have it read by May 28th and join us in The Sugar Bowl at 4 p.m. to discuss this novel.

 


News

ya_dept

Updated Young Adult Home Page

We have recently updated the Young Adult Home Page. The Image Slider at the top of the page shows our Upcoming Events, Latest News, and Available Resources. You will be able to find our Weekly New Releases at the bottom of the page. For any additional information please check out our quick links at the bottom of the page.

New To The Deptartment

New to the YA Department, in The Sugar Bowl, the Friends of the Library have donated a 55" screen smart TV for programming. We are very excited to use our new TV for future programs.

Laptops Currently Unavailable

Laptops are not available for checkout at this time. They may be available again at a later time. Please ask the staff at the AV desk for more information.

Quick Links

Meet the YA Manager

YA Librarian

Nicole Thompson
Young Adult Manager
Contact
Phone Number: (765) 482-3460 Ext. 1262
Email:Nicole@leblib.org

Like Us on Facebook!

Lebanon Public Library Young Adult Department

New Releases

-View More-

Maybe One Day

Author: Melissa Kantor

more...
Summary
close

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe's unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

The Well's End

Author:Seth Fishman

more...
Summary
close

Sixteen-year-old Mia Kish has always been afraid of the dark. After all, she’s baby Mia, the one who fell down a well. That was years ago, though the darkness still haunts her. But when her classmates and teachers at ritzy Westbrook Academy start dying of old age from a bizarre and frightening virus that ages its victims years in a matter of hours, Mia becomes haunted by a lot more than the dark. Their deaths are gruesome and Mia worries she and her friends may be next. In order to survive, Mia and her small crew must break quarantine and outrun armed soldiers in hazmat suits who shoot first and ask questions later.

The Tyrant's Daughter

Author: J.C. Carleson

more...
Summary
close

When her father is killed in a coup, 15-year-old Laila flees from the war-torn middle east to a life of exile and anonymity in the U.S. Gradually she adjusts to a new school, new friends, and a new culture, but while Laila sees opportunity in her new life, her mother is focused on the past. She’s conspiring with CIA operatives and rebel factions to regain the throne their family lost. Laila can’t bear to stand still as an international crisis takes shape around her, but how can one girl stop a conflict that spans generations? J.C. Carleson delivers a fascinating account of a girl—and a country—on the brink, and a rare glimpse at the personal side of international politics.

The Lunar Chronicles: Cress

Author: Marissa Meyer

more...
Summary
close

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army. Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who's only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

Chronicles of Nick: Illusion

Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon

more...
Summary
close

Nick Gautier is tired of his destiny. He doesn’t want to be the son of a demon who’s fated to end the world. Nor does he want to see another demon or other preternatural creature who wants to kill or enslave him. He just wants to be normal and have normal problems like everyone else. But normality isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. When he gets sucked into an alternate reality where his mother has married his mentor and his Atlantean god best friend has become a human geek, he begins to understand that no life is free of pain, and that every person has a specific place in the universe… Even the son of a hated demon.